People

Dr. Victor E. Kappeler

Victor Kappeler Profile Image
  • Associate Dean of Justice Studies and EKU Foundation Professor
  • Department: School of Justice Studies
  • Office: Stratton 354
  • Email: Victor.Kappeler@eku.edu
  • Phone: 622-7888
  • Mailing Address: Stratton 354
  • Office Hours: M-F 8:00-4:30

Dr. Pete Kraska

Peter Kraska Profile Image
  • Chair of Graduate Studies/Professor
  • Department: School of Justice Studies
  • Office: Stratton 466
  • Email: peter.kraska@eku.edu
  • Phone: 622-1980
  • Mailing Address: Stratton 467

Dr. Preston Elrod

Preston Elrod Profile Image
  • Interim Chair of Undergraduate Studies/Professor
  • Department: School of Justice Studies
  • Office: Stratton 467
  • Email: preston.elrod@eku.edu
  • Phone: 859-622-1980
  • Mailing Address: Stratton 467-A

Dr. Victoria E. Collins

Collins
  • Assistant Professor
  • Department: Criminal Justice & Police Studies
  • Office: 412B Stratton
  • Email: victoria.collins@eku.edu
  • Mailing Address: 467 Stratton
  • Recent Scholarship United States Support for Global Social Justice? Foreign Intervention and Realpolitik in Egypt's Arab Spring
    Abstract: On rare occasions, and under certain conditions, segments of the population respond to the repressive and violent conditions imposed on them by a state's leader by seeking social justice in a variety of ways--from broad social movements to revolutions. The "Arab Spring" that began in December 2010 is an example of such uprisings. The authors suggest that political factors, in particular the need of states to maintain legitimacy and pursue their interests, affect the framing, labeling, and repression of those involved in ending state violence. In this context, the reaction of foreign states to social unrest is more often than not predicated on their geopolitical interests than on their stated support for social justice, democracy, humanitarian concerns, or human rights. By drawing on theories of power, discourse, and legitimacy, the authors analyze the contradictory responses of the United States to the Arab Spring uprisings in Egypt.
     The Normality of Political Administration and State Violence: Casuistry, Law and Drones. Abstract: Large unmanned aerial vehicles (i.e., drones) equipped with missiles and bombs or battle-equipped have progressively become the newest wave in ‘‘warfare.’’ We argue that the use of drones for targeted assassinations is merely a new technological tool for state violence that is increasingly becoming a regular exercise of the US power in the construction and reification of the broader social geopolitical order. Further, it is through law, domestic and international, that state violence, wars and the use of drones for targeted assassinations are legitimated and are a normality, and continuation of, the political management of the state. Taken with the core of humanitarian law that legitimates war and state violence, we suggest that the use of drones can be interpreted within the body of legislation, political discourse, and laws that serve to normalize and legitimize their use: no different than such processes that occurred with the technological advances that offered military tanks, aerial bombing, projectile missiles or even nuclear and chemical weapons. Website: http://link.springer.com/article/10.1007%2Fs10612-014-9234-7 A Lust for Treasure and a Love of Gold...or Desperation? Global Facilitation of Piracy, Neoliberal Policies and the Control of the Somali Pirate. Abstract: The issue of piracy is most often framed as being the product of dangerousindividuals plundering and murdering for personal gain. What is less often discussed arethe state, political, economic, and corporate interests that intersect with piracy (i.e. thecorporate interest demand for protection of global shipping routes that are instrumental forcapital accumulation in the world market). Here I utilize the concept of crimes of globalizationto demonstrate that the motivations that undergird policies aimed at controllingpiracy today are not dissimilar to those promoted through international financial institutionsin their effort to advance the economic interests of highly empowered countries at theexpense of addressing localized needs. Website link: http://link.springer.com/article/10.1007%2Fs10612-014-9239-2

Dr. Barker

Tom Barker and Zach

Dr. Kristie R Blevins

Kristie Blevins Profile Image
  • Associate Professor
  • Department: School of Justice Studies
  • Office: Stratton 110
  • Email: kristie.blevins@eku.edu
  • Phone: 622-6869
  • Mailing Address: Stratton 467

Dr. Avi Brisman

Avi Brisman
  • Assistant Professor
  • Department: School of Justice Studies
  • Office: Stratton 311
  • Email: avi.brisman@eku.edu
  • Mailing Address: Stratton 467

Dr. Terry Cox

Terry Cox Profile Image
  • ERTP-Retire Transition Faculty
  • Department: School of Justice Studies
  • Office: Stratton 408
  • Email: Terry.Cox@eku.edu
  • Phone: 622-1983
  • Mailing Address: Stratton 467

Dr. John Curra

John Curra Profile Image
  • Professor
  • Department: School of Justice Studies
  • Office: Stratton 109
  • Email: John.Curra@EKU.EDU
  • Phone: 622-8370
  • Mailing Address: Stratton 467

Dr. Chuck Fields

Chuck Fields Profile Image
  • Professor
  • Department: School of Justice Studies
  • Office: Stratton 462
  • Email: chuck.fields@eku.edu
  • Phone: 622-6555
  • Mailing Address: Stratton 467

Dr. Kishonna Leah Gray

Kishonna Gray Profile Image
  • Assistant Professor
  • Department: School of Justice Studies
  • Office: Stratton 313
  • Email: Kishonna.Gray@eku.edu
  • Phone: 622-8880
  • Mailing Address: Stratton 467
  • Office Hours: MW 10:00 am - 12:00 pm

Dr. Robin Haarr

Robin Haarr Profile Image
  • Professor
  • Department: School of Justice Studies
  • Office: Stratton 412A
  • Email: robin.haarr@eku.edu
  • Phone: 622-8152
  • Mailing Address: Stratton 467

Dr. Scott Hunt

Scott Hunt Profile Image
  • Professor
  • Department: School of Justice Studies
  • Office: Stratton 407
  • Email: scott.hunt@eku.edu
  • Phone: 622-5074
  • Mailing Address: Stratton 467
  • Office Hours: T TR 11:00-2:00

Dr. Ellen C Leichtman

Ellen Leichtman Profile Image
  • Associate Professor
  • Department: School of Justice Studies
  • Office: Stratton 405
  • Email: ellen.leichtman@eku.edu
  • Phone: 622-8108
  • Mailing Address: Stratton 467
  • Primary areas of Academic Interest: The influence of reform movements on the criminal justice system The history of the police and courts The importance of music in social justice

Dr. Betsy Ann Matthews

Betsy Matthew Profile Image
  • Associate Professor
  • Department: School of Justice Studies
  • Office: Stratton 102
  • Email: Betsy.Matthews@eku.edu
  • Phone: 622-8113
  • Mailing Address: Stratton 467A

Dr. Kevin Minor

Kevin Minor Profile Image
  • Professor
  • Department: School of Justice Studies
  • Office: Stratton 104
  • Email: Kevin.Minor@eku.edu
  • Phone: 622-2240
  • Mailing Address: Stratton 467A

Lee Ann Ann Morrison

Morrison
  • Lecturer
  • Department: School of Justice Studies
  • Office: Stratton
  • Email: LeeAnn.Morrison@eku.edu
  • Mailing Address: Stratton 467

William Nixon

William Nixon Profile Image
  • Professor
  • Department: School of Justice Studies
  • Office: Stratton 409
  • Email: William.Nixon@eku.edu
  • Phone: 622-6265
  • Mailing Address: Stratton 467
  • Office Hours: Posted and By Appointment

Dr. Derek Paulsen

Derek Paulsen Profile Image
  • Associate Professor
  • Department: School of Justice Studies
  • Office: Stratton 410
  • Email: derek.paulsen@eku.edu
  • Phone: 622-2906
  • Mailing Address: Stratton 467

Dr. Gary Potter

Potter
  • Professor
  • Department: School of Justice Studies
  • Office: Stratton 461
  • Email: Gary.Potter@eku.edu
  • Phone: 622-2009
  • Mailing Address: Stratton 467
  • Office Hours: M 12:00-2:00 W 3:00-5:00

Carl Allen Root

Root
  • Lecturer
  • Department: School of Justice Studies
  • Office: Stratton 467
  • Email: Carl.Root@eku.edu
  • Mailing Address: Stratton 467A

Dr. Judah Schept

Judah Schept Profile Image
  • Assistant Professor
  • Department: School of Justice Studies
  • Email: Judah.Schept@eku.edu
  • Mailing Address: Stratton 467

Dr. Irina Soderstrom

Irina Soderstrom Profile Image
  • Professor
  • Department: School of Justice Studies
  • Office: Stratton 108
  • Email: Irina.Soderstrom@eku.edu
  • Phone: 622-1156
  • Mailing Address: Stratton 467

Dr. Ken Tunnell

Tunnell
  • Foundation Professor
  • Department: School of Justice Studies
  • Office: Stratton 465
  • Email: Ken.Tunnell@eku.edu
  • Phone: 622-1984
  • Mailing Address: Stratton 467

Dr. Tyler Wall

Tyler Wall Profile Image
  • Assistant Professor
  • Department: School of Justice Studies
  • Office: Stratton
  • Email: Tyler.Wall@eku.edu
  • Mailing Address: Stratton 467

Dr. James Wells

James Wells Profile Image
  • Professor
  • Department: School of Justice Studies
  • Office: Stratton 103
  • Email: James.Wells@eku.edu
  • Phone: 622-1158
  • Mailing Address: Stratton 467